Edinburgh Award recipients honoured in recognition for their extra-curricular activities

Photo: Dr JC Denis, Ogden Outreach Officer with some of our student award recipients

Well done to the 15 School of Physics and Astronomy Students who received an Edinburgh Award at a ceremony in April.

The Edinburgh Award

The Edinburgh Award recognises the non-academic University activities, such as volunteering work, community activities or part time work, which some students take part in. The Award encourages students to reflect on and develop the skills gained through taking part in such activities.  One of the important aspects of the Award is the opportunity for students to articulate what they have gained from such activities – a skill which will be of advantage when communicating with potential employers.

The School’s Edinburgh Award recipients had contributed to the School’s Physics Outreach Team or the Maths Buddies scheme.

Physics Outreach

The Physics Outreach Team work to engage the wider community in physics and science through the delivery of educational activities. Students delivered activities at events such as the Festival of Physics, and at various venues in the city. Students also planned and organised their own activities, including a weekly science club in a local primary and high school, and an astronomy science event at Craigmillar Community Science Festival.

Physics Outreach Team award recipients are:

  • Cameron Johnston
  • Cristina Cortes-Salas
  • Fedra Antoniadou
  • Harry Carstairs
  • Matthew Parkes

Maths Buddies

The Maths Buddies scheme enables senior students to provide support and guidance to more junior students with regards to their mathematical physics course material. During sessions, junior students complete maths assignments in the company of peers, get support on course-related questions and coordinate with like-minded people who enjoy solving maths challenges. Buddies also provide guidance and answers to questions posed online.

Maths Buddies award recipients are:

  • Michael Brown
  • Sara Evers
  • Eirik Moen Liane
  • Panayiotis Panayiotou
  • Simona Prokopovic
  • Lucie Scharre
  • Frederik Madsen
  • Konstantinos Vlamis
  • Karolina Wamsler
  • Kyriacos Xanthos

Learn more

The Edinburgh Award 

Physics Outreach Team contact:  Dr Jean-Christophe Denis

Maths Buddies contact: Dr Kristel Torokoff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Report this page

To report inappropriate content on this page, please use the form below. Upon receiving your report, we will be in touch as per the Take Down Policy of the service.

Please note that personal data collected through this form is used and stored for the purposes of processing this report and communication with you.

If you are unable to report a concern about content via this form please contact the Service Owner.

Please enter an email address you wish to be contacted on. Please describe the unacceptable content in sufficient detail to allow us to locate it, and why you consider it to be unacceptable.
By submitting this report, you accept that it is accurate and that fraudulent or nuisance complaints may result in action by the University.