Any views expressed within media held on this service are those of the contributors, should not be taken as approved or endorsed by the University, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the University in respect of any particular issue.


SECO brings together more than 50 experts in radar remote sensing, field ecology, biogeography and phylogenetics, carbon cycle modelling, model-data fusion and attribution.

SECO network of people spans six continents and work in more than 20 countries across the dry tropics.




  • Francisco Maiato Pedro Gonçalves, PhD – Herbarium of Lubango

Burkina Faso

  • Compaore Halidou, PhD – National agricultural and environmental research center (CNRST/INERA Burkina Faso)

Democratic Republic of Congo

  • Jonathan Muledi, PhD, Associate Professor – University of Lubumbashi
  • Mumba Urbain – University of Lubumbashi


  • George Ametsitsi, PhD – CSIR-Forestry Research Institute of Ghana
  • Hamza Issifu, PhD, Lecturer – Department of Forestry and Forest Resources Management, University for Development Studies, Tamale, Ghana


  • Mũsingo T. E. Mbuvi, PhD,  Deputy Director Forest Research Support Services and Chief Research Scientist – Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI)

  • John Ngugi – Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI)


  • Ariadna Mondragon Botero,  Ph.D. student – Berenty Reserve and University of Minnesota
  • Jennifer Powers, Professor – University of Minnesota




  • Natasha Ribeiro, PhD – Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
  • Sa Nogueira Lisboa – Universidade Eduardo Mondlane


  • Vera de Cauwer, PhD – Namibia University of Science and Technology
  • Hermane Diesse – Namibia University of Science and Technology
  • Leena Naftal – Namibia University of Science and Technology

ORC-2-long_website banner.png

Republic of Congo

  • Ifo Suspense Averti, PhD, Associate Professor – Université Marien N’GOUABI & Laboratoire de Télédétection et Ecologie Forestière

South Africa

  • Sally Archibald, Professor – University of Witwatersrand


  • Makala Jasper – Mpingo Conservation & Development Initiative
  • Elifuraha Elisha Njoghomi, PhD‬ – Tanzania Forestry Research Institute, Morogoro


  • Rachel Cohen, PhD – We Forest


  • Anderson Muchawona, Forest Mapping and inventory officerZimbabwe Forestry Commission 
  • Professor Clemence Zimudzi, University of Zimbabwe 



  • Lindsay B. Hutley, PhD – Charles Darwin University, College of Engineering, IT and Environment
  • David Yue Phin Tng, PhD – The School for Field Studies, Massachusetts, USA 
  • Deborah Mattos Guimaraes Apgaua, PhD – The School for Field Studies, Massachusetts, USA  


  • Naomi Schwartz, Assistant Professor – University of British Columbia, Department of Geography 


  • Jayashree Ratnam, PhD – National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (NCBS-TIFR) Bangalore, India
  • Mahesh Sankaran, PhD – National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (NCBS-TIFR) Bangalore, India
  • N Parthasarathy, PhD – Pondicherry University

Latin America


  • Luzmila Arroyo Padilla, MSc – Universidad Autónoma Gabriel René Moreno
  • Marisol Toledo – Universidad Autónoma Gabriel René Moreno


  • Domingos Cardoso, PhD – Universidade Federal da Bahia (UFBA)
  • Eder Pereira Miguel, PhD in Forest SciencesUniversity of Brasilia (UnB) 
  • Patricia Morellato, Professor – São Paulo State University (UNESP)
  • Desirée Ramos, PhD, SECO PDRA in Phenology – São Paulo State University (UNESP)
  • Marcelo Trindade Nascimento, PhD – Universidade Estadual do Norte Fluminense Darcy Ribeiro (UENF)
  • Danilo M. Neves, PhDUniversidade Federal de Minas Gerais
  • José Roberto Rodrigues PintoUniversity of Brasilia (UnB) 
  • Magna Moura, PhD – Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation (EMBRAPA), Embrapa Semi-arid Region Unit
  • Marcelo Leandro Bueno, PhD – LAMEV – Laboratory of Macroecology and Evolution, Universidade Estadual de Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
  • Rubens Santos, PhD – Universidade Federal de Lavras
  • Mario Marcos do Espirito Santo, PhD – Universidade Estadual Montes Claros
  • Bruna Alberton, PhD – Universidade Estadual São Paolo
  • Renata Françoso, PhD – Universidade Federal de Lavras
  • Italo Coutinho, PhD – Universidade Federal de Ceará
  • Ben-Hur Marimon, PhD – Universidade Estadual Mato Grosso
  • Beatriz Marimon, PhD – Universidade Estadual Mato Grosso
  • Dora Maria Villela José, PhD – Universidade Estadual do Norte Fluminense


  • Álvaro Idárraga, PhD(c) Biology – Fundación Jardín Botánico de Medellín
  • Andrés Avella, PhD Sciences – Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas
  • Camila Pizano, PhD Biology – Universidad ICESI
  • Francisco Torres, PhD Business Administration – Fundación Natura Colombia
  • Gina Rodríguez, MSc(c) Ecological Restoration – Fundación Ecosistemas Secos de Colombia
  • Hermes Cuadros, PhD(c) Biology – Universidad del Atlántico
  • Julio Ferrer, Forest Engineer – Parques Nacionales, Santuario de Flora y Fauna Los Colorados
  • Karen Pérez, Biologist – Fundación Orioquía Biodiversa
  • René López-Camácho, PhD(c) Sciences – Biology – Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas
  • Roy González, M. PhD Biological Sciences – Instituto de Investigación de Recursos Biológicos Alexander von Humboldt

Costa Rica

  • Jennifer Powers, Professor – University of Minnesota


  • Zhofre Aguirre, Ingeniero Forestal, PhD – Universidad Nacional de Loja
  • Catalina Quintana, PhD – Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Ecuador (PUCE) 



  • Juan Manuel Dupuy, PhD – Centro de investigación Cientifica de Yucatan A.C.  
  • José Luis Hernandez-Stefanoni, PhD – Centro de investigación Cientifica de Yucatan A.C.  
  • Rogelio Corona-Núñez, PhD – Procesos y Sistemas de Información en Geomática, SA de CV


  • Dr. José Luis Marcelo-Peña – Universidad Nacional de Jaén


United Kingdom

University of Edinburgh, School of Geosciences:

Dr Casey Ryan, Reader in Ecosystem Services & Global Change

Dr Kyle Dexter, Reader in Terrestrial Vegetation Ecology

Professor Mathew Williams, Chair of Global Change Ecology

Professor Gabriele Hegerl, Chair of Climate System Science

Dr. David Milodowski, SECO PDRA in Modelling of the Carbon Cycle

Dr. John L.  Godlee, SECO PDRA in Biogeography and Carbon Dynamics

Dr. Sam Harrison, SECO PDRA in Spatial Analysis of the Carbon Cycle

Penny Mograbi, SECO Project Officer

University of Leeds, School of Geography:

Professor Tim Baker, Professor of Tropical Ecology and Conservation

Professor Oliver Phillips, Professor of Tropical Ecology

Dr. Aurora Levesley, Database Manager

Georgia Pickavance, Research Data Co-ordinator


University of Exeter:

Professor Toby Pennington, Professor of Tropical Plant Diversity and Biogeography

Professor Stephen Sitch, Professor of Physical Geography

University of Sheffield, School of Mathematics and Statistics

and  National Centre for Earth Observation:

Professor Shaun Quegan, Professor of Environmental Dynamics

Dr João Carreiras, SECO Research Associate in Remote Sensing


Report this page

To report inappropriate content on this page, please use the form below. Upon receiving your report, we will be in touch as per the Take Down Policy of the service.

Please note that personal data collected through this form is used and stored for the purposes of processing this report and communication with you.

If you are unable to report a concern about content via this form please contact the Service Owner.

Please enter an email address you wish to be contacted on. Please describe the unacceptable content in sufficient detail to allow us to locate it, and why you consider it to be unacceptable.
By submitting this report, you accept that it is accurate and that fraudulent or nuisance complaints may result in action by the University.