Eleanor Campbell smiles into the camera with a body of water and some grass behind her.

Eleanor Elizabeth Bryce Campbell is a Scottish scientist and academic. She was born on April 13, 1960, in Rothesay on the Isle of Bute in Scotland. Campbell currently holds the Chair of Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh.

Campbell pursued her education at the University of Edinburgh, where she obtained a BSc in Chemical Physics with first-class honors in 1982. She continued her studies at the same university, earning a PhD in 1986. Her doctoral research focused on the topic of Electronic to rovibrational excitation in fast atom-molecule collisions. Following her PhD, Campbell received a habilitation in experimental physics from the University of Freiburg.

In her academic career, Campbell held various positions of increasing responsibility. She served as an assistant professor at the University of Freiburg and later became a departmental head at the Max-Born Institut. In 1998, she was appointed as the Chair of Atomic and Molecular Physics at Gothenburg University in Sweden. Eventually, Campbell returned to the University of Edinburgh, initially as the Chair of Physical Chemistry in 2007 and later as the Chair of Chemistry in 2013.

Throughout her career, Campbell has received numerous honors and recognitions for her contributions to the field of chemistry. She was elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 2005 and became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2004. In 2010, she was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society for her experimental research on relaxation channels and reorganizational dynamics of highly excited molecules and surfaces. Additionally, Campbell is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Physics.

Currently, Campbell leads a research group at the University of Edinburgh, focusing on the study of fundamental ionization mechanisms and excited state dynamics of complex molecules in the gas phase using femtosecond laser spectroscopy. Her group also investigates carbon nanomaterials and develops microporous carbon-based materials for gas capture and storage.

More information: