• Officer of the Order of the British Empire – 2000
  • Commandeur de l’Ordre des Palmes Academiques – 2009
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh – 1988
  • Fellow of the Royal Society – 1992
  • Honorary Fellow of the International Union of Quaternary Science – 2010
  • Kirk Bryan Award of the Geological Society of America – 1976
  • Lyell Fund of the Geological Society – 1980
  • Seligman Crystal of the International Glaciological Society – 2001
  • Lyell Medal of the Geological Society – 2006
  • Tedford Science Medal of the Society for Contemporary Scotland – 2006
  • Inaugural James Croll Medal of the Quaternary Research Association – 2011
  • Royal Gold Medal (the Founders Medal) of the Royal Geographical Society – 2014
  • UK Polar Medal – 2015
  • Honorary Doctor of Technology, Chalmers University – 2002
  • Doctor of Science honoris causa, Heidelberg University – 2008
  • Doctor of Science honoris causa, University of Birmingham – 2007
  • Doctor of Science honoris causa, University of Keele – 2007

Report this page

To report inappropriate content on this page, please use the form below. Upon receiving your report, we will be in touch as per the Take Down Policy of the service.

Please note that personal data collected through this form is used and stored for the purposes of processing this report and communication with you.

If you are unable to report a concern about content via this form please contact the Service Owner.

Please enter an email address you wish to be contacted on. Please describe the unacceptable content in sufficient detail to allow us to locate it, and why you consider it to be unacceptable.
By submitting this report, you accept that it is accurate and that fraudulent or nuisance complaints may result in action by the University.